As I sit here a…

As I sit here a quarter of the way through the semester I find myself thinking a few things when it comes the consumption of my food. First, I think of my current state of being and the kinds of foods I’ve been eating. Before this class I knew only a little about food and where it came from. I’ve heard of the local movement, and I am from a fairly rural area in Lancaster. There’s a small locavore movement occurring in the actual city, but as for suburbia? There’s not much there. My knowledge actually came from my brother, who went to a school in Maine that was fully sustainable. He brought back a lot of practical ideas for our family to grow accustomed to. I’d like to think that we have, but I realize we aren’t there yet. Let’s be honest, I don’t really live there anymore, I spend maybe 4 months all together there a year. I live here, at school. My sources of food include, Benny’s Bistro, the Caf, half-price wings after a night out at BJ’s and once and a while a trip off campus to a chain establishment, usually fast food, usually Dunkin Donuts. I do not have access to a kitchen to prepare my own meals, nor have I budgeted money to buy groceries (seeing as how I pay almost $3,000 a year for a meal plan). That leads me to the ever so popular notion that I DEPEND ON “THE MAN.” And to be honest, ‘the man’, or Aramark rather, does not feed me foods that are appropriate to living a healthy lifestyle. In fact, I often get sick in my stomach. The next meal then comes from the same spot. It’s like a never-ending cycle of food poisoning. I wish that they would be a little more transparent as to how the Aramark food works. My question is, and I hope to find out through my peers’ projects, where does our school food really come from?

 

When I go about my business searching food blogs, reading and thinking, I usually never quite a vision of what I hope to find. But as this class continues and I decipher how I will benefit the most, the term equality sticks out to me. I am an advocate for equality and fairness, and as I search for the perfect article, I came across Pepsi Co. This article troubled me a little because there are two parts to its equality story. The first, I gathered from the title, Pepsi cuts 8,700 jobs; 4th quarter profits rise, obviously someone is not being treated equally. These people are being cut, so profits can be more. On the other side of the spectrum we have Wall Street’s view on the benefits as problematic (surprising, I know, but keep reading). The owner of the company is clearly doing the wrong thing. According to journalists on Wall Street, “Ms. Nooyi has come under pressure from Wall Street for a stagnant stock price and a lagging North American beverage business. She has been criticized for taking her eye off the core business of sodas to expand into healthier products, such as hummus and drinkable oatmeal.” She’s getting in trouble for wanting to expand her business. Now, I’m no business major and I realize this may be bad for the company, but I’d be proud to buy from a company that there was conscious effort to make their food supply healthier and better.

 

http://www.foodpolitics.com/2012/02/pepsi-cuts-8700-jobs-4th-quarter-profits-rise/

 

P.S. My fish sandwich in the caf for lunch was perfectly rectangular, odd?

Leave a Reply

