School Lunches according to Grist!

FOOD LOG:

This week has been thoroughly interesting and I feel as though I’ve learned those integral, shocking facts that no American wants to hear about the foods they consume. A big one that struck me, and I continually enforce throughout my day to my peers is the fact that there are 38 ingredients in a chicken nugget. I’m disgusted by that fact, and would like nothing else but to shut down whatever power has the control of what goes into it. I’ve also been interested in learning the background of what road is travelled by our food. From the seed company, to the farmer, to the processor and to the consumer, I’ve found out there is a lot more to it than just my meat finding it is way to my table from the grocery store. This class is already turning the tables in my head out of how I not only eat food, but what I purchase as a consumer. I want to be an informed person who eats fresh and healthy foods and supports the right people that will help me do so. After a recent discussion with my mom, I feel like I’ve been able to already give good information and insight into fixing our own food issues in our household. I am able to support my notion of buying local food within my own family. I hope I can continue to learn proper tools to be a better consumer, a better eater and a better lobbyer for the organic, fresh, healthy food industry. I can’t wait to be more educated on this subject as the semester unfolds.

FOOD BLOG: 

As I explore food blogs for my next entry, I came across the Grist website. Nancy Heuhengarth recently wrote an article with hard facts on what is going on within the food at school lunches, and how the government is involved. I have not learned much on the subject, and at that age I didn’t know what lobbyists, USDA, FDA or even the difference between healthy and non-healthy foods was. To give a quick overview, the news on this subject have been quite positive within the last few years. Since Obama has been in office, Michelle has been a large supporter of kids getting healthy and active, and part of her stance was what schools are doing to help in the process. A few facts generated from the article include, adding a variety of vegetables, and the amount that is available to students. Another is whole grain being a staple within the school baking or ordering process. Taking whole milk out of schools is another important factor. An alarming fact is that pizza is still considered a vegetable by the USDA. Are they serious? My reaction this information and blog entry is a positive one. I feel as though the right moves are being made to make the food system in America better for everyone. It is exciting to see such changes happen now that I am out of the school-age, and I wish more students were educated on healthy foods that it would become a priority for them even when they are young. Even though some members of Congress have held some aspects back (pizza is not a vegetable and sugary drinks aren’t that great), since they are paid for by big business to pull for no legislation against outside unhealthy foods integrated into school meal options, I still feel as though we are going in the right direction to keep America healthy.

http://grist.org/food/32-million-reasons-to-cheer-the-usda/

Leave a Reply

